Top of page
Skip to main content
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for the 2024-25 school year will open in December 2023 instead of October 1st. See more on FAFSA Simplification.

Pima Community College Board Member Catherine Ripley Resigns

Catherine Ripley is resigning from the Pima Community College Governing Board to spend more time taking care of her elderly mother.  In a statement given at the PCC Governing Board Study Session on Monday, Ripley said,

“I have found it more and more difficult to spread my time and efforts between home and the College, and to give my mother the care and constant love she so deserves in this, her last stages of life. It has been an honor and privilege to serve this beautiful community of educators and students. The amazing staff, administration, and faculty I was privileged to meet and work with here will be missed terribly. I am amazed and proud of your accomplishments, courage, and strength of character you have shown over the past two very difficult years of COVID recovery. Your resilience is remarkable, and you’ve managed to not only overcome enormous challenges, but rise to levels beyond ever before. You are true heroes to me and to this community.”  

Ms. Ripley was elected in November 2020 for the term 2021-2026 to serve as Governing Board member for District 1. 

“Ms. Ripley is a dedicated public servant and has contributed greatly to the success of Pima Community College during her tenure, first as an adjunct faculty member, then as a Governing Board member, Vice Chair, and finally Chair of the Board,” said Chancellor Lee Lambert. “She managed the Board through difficult times with courage and grace and always kept the interests of students and the needs of the community as her priority.” 

Arizona law requires the appointment of a successor be made by Dustin Williams, the Pima County School Superintendent. Any questions regarding the replacement process should be directed to the Superintendent’s office at 520-724-8451. 


Libby Howell, APR, Executive Director
Media, Government and Community Relations

Back to main content Back to top