Return to accessibility navigation at the top of the page.

Governing Board Recognition

PCC Board of Governors

The PCC Governing Board is pleased to recognize the following faculty, staff and students for their professional growth and achievements.  Your talent and dedication enrich our community! 


Dolores Durán-Cerda: received the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) 2016 National Presidential Citation Community Service Award

Morgan Phillips: awarded the Aspen Presidential Fellowship for Community College Excellence

Joshua  Blum: received the Mothers Against Drunk Driving D.U.I. Enforcement Award for 2016

Christina McNearney: awarded a Distinguished Artist Scholarship by the Art Students League of New York

Karen Hymer: received the Alex Ferrone Gallery Juror’s Awards Grand Prize in International Juried Photographic Solarplate Exhibition

Christopher Cabello: awarded the American Chemical Award Society (ACS) Southern Arizona Educator of the Yea


2016 SandScript Staff: named the Top Literacy magazine in the National and the Southwestern Division categories by the Community College Humanities Association for the second year in a row.

Patricia Ferrer: honored by Fashion Business Inc.

Alex Fruechtenicht and Larry Gaurano: received the 2016 Arizona Newspapers Association  Better Newspapers Contest First Place award for Best Feature

Danyelle Khmara: received the 2016 Arizona Newspapers Association Better Newspapers Contest Third Place award for enterprise reporting for a 2015 analysis of state mining issues, including the Rosemont and Oak Flat proposals.

Marissa Ferrin and Bernadette Salazar: finished third the Arizona Scientific Conference-Student Competition for their Table Clinic Presentation

Sage Cutler: achieved the rank of Eagle Scout, earning 53 merit badges; only 21 are required

Meghan Sweeney, Rozario Martinez, Kristin Baldwin, Morgan Engelhardt,Miranda Bingham, Elizabeth Deaton, Jamie Holliday, Christopher Leach, Casey Morinelli, Carley Nelson and Frankie Wu:  National Junior College Athletic Association Academic All-Americans

Community Members

Dr. Don Davis:  senior Scientist, Planetary Science Institute.  Dr. Davis was part of a Planetary Science Institute team awarded a five-year NASA grant. The award allowed a PCC student to participate in an internship revising the website of NASA’s Small Bodies Node of Planetary Data Systems.

Howard Stewart: President/CEO, AGM Container Controls, Inc. Mr. Stewart was the lead sponsor for the STEM Innovation Challenge Showcase.  He donated $5,000, food and transportation to the event.