Return to accessibility navigation at the top of the page.

Board Members

Contact all Board of Governors members by sending email to: Additional ways to contact the board are provided on the Contact webpage.

Mark Hanna


District 1:  Mark Hanna

Mark Hanna is the District 1 representative. Mark had a retail management career for over 30 years before retiring in 1999 to Tucson with his wife, Lynda. He earned his associate degree in Education from Pima and bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Higher Education from The University of Arizona.

Mark worked as a teacher’s aide and the College and Career Readiness Coordinator at Catalina High School, retiring in 2014. He has served as chair of the Pima Community College Alumni Association, was a member of the PCC Foundation Board and was Pima East Campus Student Government treasurer. Mark also is an officer of The University of Arizona Hillel Board Of Directors. Mark was awarded the Metropolitan Education Commission’s “Crystal Apple Award” in 2011 and the Century Link/Arizona Diamondbacks “All Star Teacher Award” in 2013.

Elected in Nov. 2014 for the term 2015-2020

David A. Longoria


District 2:  David A. Longoria

Mr. Longoria has more than 12 years of public service management experience, working in various capacities for the local Pima County government in the areas of Administration and Policy, Community and Economic Development, Neighborhood Revitalization, Community Relations and Outreach, Intergovernmental Affairs, and Public Works and Transportation. He has a history of successfully collaborating with several community and business leaders and underserved neighborhoods and populations throughout the region on numerous grassroots, community-building, organizing, reinvestment, and improvement projects and programs. His extensive community service background involves volunteering for the Regional Transportation Authority, the Primavera Foundation, the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the City of South Tucson, and Amigos de Pima.

Mr. Longoria has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from the University of Arizona, and a Master of Public Administration degree in Local Government and Non-Profit Management from the U of A School of Government & Public Policy. He is a member of the Service Employees International Union (AZ Local 48), and holds several distinguished honors, including a 2012 Fellowship in the Arizona Center for Civic Leadership's Flinn-Brown Academy.  He was acknowledged as an emerging local leader by the Tucson Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and Arizona Daily Star's "40 Under 40" recognition in 2009

Appointed in Feb. 2010 to serve 2010
Elected in Nov. 2010 for the term 2011 – 2016

Sylvia Lee


District 3:  Sylvia M. Lee, Ph.D.

Dr. Lee retired in 2011 after serving 30 years in leadership positions in community colleges and universities in Arizona and Minnesota.  Most recently she served as President of PCC's Community and Northwest Campuses.

Dr. Lee is proud that she graduated with an Associate's Degree, served as campus president and now is a governing board member at Pima Community College. She received her Baccalaureate and Masters Degrees from the University of Arizona and a Ph.D. in Higher Education from Arizona State University.  She serves on numerous non-profit boards, including Goodwill Industries of Southern Arizona, Literacy Connects, DM-50 (Friends of Davis Monthan Air Force Base) and the University of Arizona President's Asian Pacific American Community Advisory Council.

Elected in Nov. 2012 for the term 2013 - 2018

Scott Stewart


District 4:  Scott A. Stewart

Mr. Stewart is a recently retired engineer with over 35 years of experience in diverse areas of electro-optical testing, data analysis, and front line management. Mr. Stewart holds a Bachelor of Science in Astronomy, a Bachelor of Science in Physics, a Bachelor of Arts in Russian, and a Master of Science in Optical Sciences, all from the University of Arizona.

Mr. Stewart continues in leadership roles in civic activities and maintains proficiency in technical Russian.

Elected in Nov. 1998 for the term 1999- 2004
Elected in Nov. 2004 for the term 2005 - 2010
Elected in Nov. 2010 for the term 2011 – 2016

Marty Cortez


District 5:  E. Marty Cortez

A long time educator and Hispanic leader, Ms. Cortez is a retired school principal who worked for Tucson Unified, Nogales (Arizona), Amphitheater and Sunnyside school districts and was a former advisor for Northern Arizona University academic programs.  In addition to boards of numerous civic organizations, she is a past president of the University of Arizona Hispanic Alumni Club and still serves on the Board as the coordinator of the U of A Hispanic Alumni Scholarship Students Leadership and Retention Program.  Among her honors, Ms. Cortez was named Woman of the Year in 1999 by the Hispanic Professional Action Committee, received a Woman of the Year award from the YWCA and has been an honoree of Inside Tucson Business "Women of Influence."

Ms. Cortez holds a Bachelor of Arts in  Elementary Education, a Master of Arts in Elementary Education, and a Master of Education in Counseling and Guidance, all from the University of Arizona.

Elected in Nov. 1994 for the term 1995 - 2000
Elected in Nov. 2000 for the term 2001 - 2006
Elected in Nov. 2006 for the term 2007 - 2012
Elected in Nov. 2012 for the term 2013 - 2018